Why Getting Pissed Off Can Bring Out The Best In Us…John Page Burton

1001BLT-604
When we hear the words “pissed off”, many of us conjure up the image of a person with bulging eyeballs and smoke coming out of their ears. The dictionary defines “pissed” as being annoyed or angry. I believe being “pissed off” can be a good thing if we are truly committed to becoming the best version of ourselves. Humans are driven by two primary emotions, pleasure and pain. When our pain becomes unbearable we tend to become more receptive to change. As a professional coach, I routinely encourage clients to get pissed off because I know it’s the first meaningful step toward achieving a BREAKTHROUGH.  Lets look at 5 areas where we may be well served to start getting a tad “pissed off”.
1. Ourselves. When we become pissed at ourselves, it’s a sure sign we know we are capable of doing better. Think of an area(s) in your life where you know you are not producing the results you are capable of. What fears are holding you back? How would you feel if you faced and conquered your fear?  Rather than continue being pissed off, recognize that it’s time to start taking meaningful ACTION STEPS toward your objectives.
2. Our Circumstances. Being pissed off at our current reality is an excellent motivator for change. Once upon a time I slept in my car, (a car held together with bailing wire and duct tape) rolled change for food, bummed cigarettes from strangers and routinely blamed my family of origin for my predicament.  It wasn’t until I looked in the mirror and became pissed at the person staring back at me, that my process of change began.  Whenever we find ourselves uncomfortable in our current reality, it’s time to make a different decision. Our current reality won’t change until we change our relationship to it.
3. Our Associations. I believe the 5-7 people we spend the most time with have the greatest influence in our life. When we find ourselves getting pissed off for “wasting time” with a friend, co worker or family member, it’s a sign that we have outgrown the relationship and we are well served to move on. As WE expand and grow, our circle of influence will expand and grow. My circle of influence looks very different today than it did ten years ago, five years ago or even one year ago. Ask yourself this question… Which members of my current circle of influence are supporting my personal growth and which members are holding me back? Change your associations, change your life!
4. Our Employment. We all know people (maybe us) who constantly complain about their job. They are under paid, under appreciated and of course they are over worked.  If you ask them why they don’t look for another job you may hear excuses like, “the place couldn’t run without me” or “It’s better than not having a job at all” or my personal favorite, ” it’s to late to change careers now”.  NEWSFLASH…It’s only too late when we’re dead! If you find yourself getting pissed off because you know you’re capable of doing and being more, it’s a clear indication you’re not following your passion.
5. Our Health. Being pissed off at the way we look or feel can be the first step toward establishing a meaningful health and wellness strategy. For example, when we are carrying excess weight not only does it effect our energy level, it also effects our psychology. Over the last three years, I managed to gain 50 pounds. I went from 6’3 225 to 6’3 275. I routinely blamed my weight gain on the fact that I had contracted Valley Fever (Google it) and was unable to maintain my normal exercise routine. In reality, I had failed to modify my food and beverage intake to offset my lack of exercise. 4 weeks ago, I got pissed off.  I established a new food plan, set some aggressive exercise goals and went to work. As of this writing I am down 15 pounds. I intend to be 6’3 225 by May 1, 2016.
All of these are examples of how a “healthy pissed off” can move us toward our greater good. I don’t advocate being pissed off at every little thing that presents itself but rather to wisely choose what we focus on being pissed off about. Until next time….
Leave a Reply

